AFTERMATH

awoke with a dream … revisiting a korean battlefield … two kinds of shades on a chessboard practicing compassion. remember. dismember. how?
killing fields throughout history, prehistory. trigger: obama speech re nobel peace prize for nuclear disarmament. terror.  no end in sight. no end insight. lewis fry richardson tried to end war with math, complex dynamical systems. gregory bateson, a richardsonian process of schismogenesis. call me crazy.
6 Responses to “AFTERMATH”

  1. ralph Says:

    Here i plan to continue my blogs from my prior blogsite

  2. Academic fan Says:

    Did you mean to say you saw Gregory Bateson in your dreams?

    In any case, it is a treat to be able to post something here. I have learnt so much from you without your knowing about it, and I am indebted to you for the same. I will keep track of this blog from now on.

    • r2abraham Says:

      thanks for writing … like many others, i keep trying to help with world problems … but math solutions have a poor record, as lewis fry richardson and the macy conference group were forgotten so quickly … cybernetics and system dynamics and complex dynamics could be so helpful but ideas on this level have no audience … ralph

      • spchamp Says:

        With respect, I think there’s an audience.

        Focusing on dynamics: Though I realize that nonlinear dynamics may not be one of the most common topics in popular discourse, recently, but I know that there are a number of books written about the topic, addressing it in any number of domains, including philosophy and business – at which I would cite, Chaos Gaia, Eros, and a a book by Stephen J. Guastello, “to start with.”

        Speaking more from my opinion, I think NDS theory bears a lot of relevance to society – for instance, in regards to how it may serve to illustrate that natural phenomena may and do have unexpected, even unpredictable effects on linear processes and trends. (I personally find it difficult to accept any estimation models that don’t take that into account, honestly – but then again, I prefer agile methods in linear work. Though I’ve yet to see any estimation models that would be based on NDS, in the linear business world, I think it’s fair to leave to room for uncertainty, in analyzing any estimations, lol)

        At the business matter, I would like to cite three books that I think make a “prim and proper” trio about complexity, not too much challenging to linear thinking 😉

        Guastello, Stephen J. Managing Emergent Phenomena. Psychology Press, 2001.

        Meadows, Donella H. Thinking in Systems: A Primer. Sustainability Institute, 2008.

        Barabasi, Albert-Laszlo. Bursts. Plume, 2011.

        /fan of your work

  3. Gordo Says:

    This reminds me a lot of an experience that I had not long ago…
    http://linuxinit.net/site/discuss/the_opposite_of_zen.htm

    Thanks for sharing!

  4. a female faust Says:

    math solutions have a poor record? funny — i thought they were the only ones left after the dust settled — (& it is actually in (re)search of which i find myself here, explanatory email to follow)

    thank you for the dream, with which i resonate. may i offer:
    http://tinyurl.com/WW3dream

    Be seeing you.

Leave a Reply

